Slash your career – slash your life

September 8, 2007

Marci Alboher has written a book titled “One person, multiple careers”. Marci describes what the book is about on her blog:

These days, my work life has several strands. I write, mostly about careers, small business, and writing. I teach/coach other writers working on nonfiction projects. I speak about how to succeed in nonfiction writing and other career issues. In an earlier life, I practiced law for nearly ten years. I refer to these various identities as “slashes,” and moving between them is what my book is about

I haven’t read the book yet, but this is so much in line with what we’re thinking about roles, online identities and personas that I certainly will. This presentation gives an overview of our thinking.

It doesn’t have to be about your career only. Or, rather, let me put it this way: the line between your professional career and your personal life is getting thinner. You can be a programmer by day and then publish photos you take on your blog by night, as a hobby. What if someone finds your photos and wants to use them commercially? Are you then a photographer or a programmer?

The thing is, it doesn’t have to be either/or. You can be a photographer AND a programmer.

A programmer / photographer.

Reading through her blog, I also noticed that Marci discovered that the telephone as a higher emotional bandwidth than email:

Recently, I did something strange. I called a fellow journalist for something we would normally talk about through email. It was so odd that I started the call with a caveat, “I don’t usually pick up the phone, but it seemed about time we had a conversation.” She and I typically communicate by email, my preferred mode of communication with just about everyone in my life. It keeps me productive. But lately I have been so saturated with email that I am starting to relish all those conversations that I long ago relegated to email.

Maybe Reach Management would help?

One Response to “Slash your career – slash your life”


  1. […] They might know you as a politician, a programmer, a neighbor, a nurse or a blogger. If you have a slashed career people will know you by many labels and roles. GlocalReach will help you manage these roles and how […]


Leave a Reply

